Brussel Sprouts, Mushrooms, Sausage and Bacon

20130308-040100.jpg

I really had very little time to make dinner yesterday.  I planned to make Balsamic Mustard Chicken but my chicken was frozen and I did not have the time to thaw.  What to do? What to do?  Well, I utilized the Roasted Veggies recipe from the Everyday Paleo post to make not just veggies but an entire meal.  Yum! The original dish included: brussel sprouts, zucchini and bacon but I did not have any zucchini and needed more protien. Here is what I did:

Brussel Sprouts, Mushrooms, Italian Sausage and Bacon:

Serves: 4

Time: 35-40 Minutes

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb Brussel Sprouts
  • 1/2 lb Baby Portobello Mushrooms
  • 6 strips Bacon, cut in quarters
  • 1/2 lb Italian Turkey Sausage, cut into bite-sized pieces
  • Olive Oil
  • Salt and Pepper

Directions:

  1. Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees F.  Oil a pan with about 1/2 TBSP of olive oil.
  2. Wash and cut Brussel sprouts in half, wash and slice mushrooms and place in pan. Drizzle with about 1 TBSP olive oil. Place in the oven and cook for 20-25 minutes. 
  3. While veggies are cooking, cook Italian Turkey Sausage over medium high heat in a pan on the stove. Stir often, continue breaking up meat as it cooks. Once cooked through, remove and set aside. 
  4. Fry the bacon slices in the same pan over medium-high heat until almost crispy (it will continue cooking once removed from the pan but I am sure you knew that) and place on paper towel-covered plate.
  5. Place sausage and bacon on veggies and return to the oven for another 5-10 minutes.
  6. Remove from oven and sprinkle with salt and pepper, to taste.

Although few ingredients, this dish was very flavorful and filling.  The bacon added some salt and fat content while the turkey sausage added Italian flavoring.  The perfect thing was that this reheated very well for work.  I would probably even eat it cold (but I didn’t actually do that . . . this time around). I will definitely make this again.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , ,

