What do you eat?

Inevitably, when I discuss my diet, after the “Why” question, I am always asked “What do you eat?”  I am used to this as my dairy allergy has caused people to ask this question for my entire life.  Now, things are a bit more complicated as dairy, gluten, corn, peanuts, most soy and all processed foods are eliminated from my diet.  “What do you eat?” is a normal question in this wheat-filled, allergen-filled, processed, society.

My answer typically is some variation of “Lots of fruits, vegetables, and protein” but that doesn’t really give people an idea of how much variety my diet encompasses.

Please keep in mind that has taken me over a year to make these changes in my diet.  I made changes one at a time and didn’t make another change until the last was habit.  This diet works for me because of the time I took to make the changes. When I stick to this diet:

I NEVER feel hungry and I NEVER feel deprived of anything.  I NEVER have cravings for the foods I used to eat.  I am always satisfied with my meals and I keep losing weight.

Can you say the same?  I hope so. 

 

What go-to snack helps you stay full until your next meal?

Here is a glimpse of what I typically eat throughout the week:

Breakfast:

– Scrambled Eggs with broccoli, tomatoes and onions (using a bit of almond milk)

Sausage, Peppers and Onion Frittata

Chia Seed Pudding/Yogurt with Fruit and Nuts

Lunch:

– Whatever was leftover from the previous day 🙂

– Grilled Chicken spinach salad

– Soup with a side of carrots and an apple

***I emphasize protein and veggies during lunch at work but always end my lunch with a piece of fruit.

Dinner:

– Any of the recipes you see on this site. A sampling below:

Chicken, Potatoes and Green Beans

Italian Sausage with Peppers, Potatoes and Onions

White Wine Garlic Shrimp

Dessert:

– Homemade sorbet

Apple Cinnamon Dessert

– Any kind of fruit

*** I rarely make dessert as I consider fruit dessert.

Snacks:

– Dried fruit & Nuts

– Beef jerky

– Fresh fruit w/almond butter

– Dry rice chex

Chia Pudding/Yogurt

– Veggies and hummus

***I always try to eat protein with my snacks.

***I usually have 2-3 snacks a day.

Tagged: , , ,

