Thai Curry Chicken

Thai Chicken Curry

My quest to improve my diet continues with curry!  I have never been a big curry fan but was willing to give it another try when I learned of its anti-inflammatory properties.  My wonderful husband had this Thai Curry Chicken dish that he wanted to try out for a while, however, I kept saying, “I don’t really like curry, I don’t think I will eat it.”  So, when I said that I was willing to give curry another shot, he jumped on the opportunity and made this dish.  (The recipe originated from Men’s Health magazine.) I would describe this as very filling and flavorful but not heavy. 

Ingredients:

  • 1 tbsp peanut oil or canola oil
  • 2 garlic cloves
  • 2 tsp fresh minced ginger
  • 1 large onion, sliced
  • 1 tbsp red Thai curry paste (he used yellow Thai curry paste as the store was out of red)
  • 1 cup chicken stock
  • 1 cup light coconut milk
  • 1 large sweet potato peeled and cut into 3/4 inch cubes
  • 1/2 lb green beans, trimmed
  • 1 lb boneless skinless chicken breasts, sliced
  • juice of one lime
  • 1 tbsp fish sauce, optional
  • fresh cilantro or basil to garnish, optional

Thai Chicken Curry

Directions:

1. In a large saucepan, heat the oil on medium, add garlic, ginger and onion and sauté until soft, about 5 minutes. Add the curry paste and cook stirring for one minute. Stir in the chicken stock and coconut milk.

2. Bring the mixture to a simmer, add the sweet potato and cook for another ten minutes.  Stir in the green beans and chicken.  Cook the mixture until the vegetables are tender and the chicken is cooked through, about another 5 minutes. 

3.  Add the juice of one lime and fish sauce.  Serve the curry over steamed brown rice (or white) and garnish with cilantro or basil (optional).

Thai Chicken Curry 5

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

