What is Your Inflammation Score?

Spoon and CherryI have been eating very healthy lately, or so I thought. However, I have noticed that my wedding ring has been a bit tight late in the day, which is odd as it usually only happens if I don’t drink enough water or if I drink a bit too much alcohol.  Well, I have only had one serving of alcohol in the past week and have been drinking about 50-60 oz of plain water a day, plus tea and coffee.  What the heck?  Why am I inflamed?

I stumbled across the Self Nutrition Data website on Friday and I am so happy that I did!  It offers this great tracking tool.  I thought the tool was going to tell me to give myself a big pat on the back for eating so well lately but I was so wrong.

I searched for and selected each of my foods for the day then the tracking tool analyzes your foods and shows you some nifty grids: Caloric Ratio, Nutritional Target Map, Nutrient Balance Score, Protein Quality, Glycemic Load and Inflammation Factor. 

The typical target net score for the Inflammation Factor is 50/day or higher. 

The foods I entered for the day were: 1 serving of Gluten-Free Chicken Fried Rice (rice, chicken, egg, sesame seed oil, soy sauce, peas, carrots, onions, garlic), 1 egg, 2 cups dry rice chex, 1/4 cup almonds, 6 prunes, 18 oz of coffee, water, and 4 clementines. That’s it.  No french fries, burgers, chips and salsa. No dairy, no gluten, and no added sugar.  I thought I was doing so well.

My Inflammation Factor score shocked me! Friday’s score: -206

Seriously? Negative two hundred and six (-206)?! I would hate to think what it looked like prior to all my dietary changes.  Whoa! 

Well, I did some research and realized that I needed to drastically increased my fruits and veggies as well as decrease those pesky grains. I started the very next day.  

On Saturday, I ate: 4 eggs, 1/2 large red bell pepper, 1/2 large green bell pepper, 1/2 cup onions, 1 banana, 1 apple, 1/2 cup raspberries, 8 strawberries, 2.5 tbsp chia seeds, 1/2 cup almond milk, 1/2 cup almonds, 6 prunes, 3 clementines, 2 cups rice chex, 2.5 tbsp EVOO, plus water and coffee. My inflammation score? 65!  Which falls in the guidelines of 50 or more per day.

Much better, I must say (although I should have eaten more protein and less carbs but baby steps . . . ). The result? My ring fit fine all day!  Now, I am not saying that I have solved everything but I am on the road to recovery.

I challenge you to input your food for a day on the Self Nutrition Data site and find out your inflammation score.

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

