Chicken Fried Rice

Chicken Fried Rice

Every year, my husband’s family celebrates Christmas with a different theme.  This year our theme was Asian Cuisine.  We made Shrimp and Lobster Pad Thai, Chicken Pad Thai and Chicken Fried Rice. I was a little worried about my ability to make these dishes gluten-free as most soy sauces have gluten in them but it was no problem at all!

It was so good that I have been have had a hankering for it for the past few months, so I made it again tonight. Yum!

Chicken Fried Rice

Servings: 4-6

Time: 25 minutes

  • 4 cups rice, prepared (about 1.5 cups uncooked rice)
  • 3/4 pound boneless, skinless chicken breasts, cut into bite sized pieces
  • 1.5 cups peas & carrots, frozen
  • 1 small white onion, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 3 eggs
  • 3 tablespoons sesame oil
  • 1/8 cup gluten-free soy sauce (my preference is about 1/6 cup)
  1. Prepare rice according to package instructions to yield 4 cups cooked rice. (You should use about 1.5 cups of uncooked rice to yield 4 cups)
  2. Meanwhile, in a large skillet over medium heat, cook chicken until done. Remove chicken and set aside.
  3. Heat sesame oil in a large skillet on medium-low heat. Add onion, garlic, peas, and carrots. Stir fry until tender.
  4. Crack eggs into pan and scramble, mixing throughout vegetables. Constantly mix while eggs are cooking.
  5. Add rice and chicken, combine.
  6. Stir in gluten-free soy sauce and remove from heat.

**Tip: Many times, but not always, I am able to find gluten-free soy sauce as the cheap off-brand at the grocery store. I thought this was too good to be true so  I would call customer service to check the ingredients and it was truly gluten-free.  Usually saves me $2 per bottle when I can find it versus the advertised “gluten-free soy sauce”.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Chicken Fried Rice

  1. […] foods I entered for the day were: 1 serving of Gluten-Free Chicken Fried Rice (rice, chicken, egg, sesame seed oil, soy sauce, peas, carrots, onions, garlic), 1 egg, 2 cups […]

Comments are closed.

