Potato Latkes

Potato Latkes

Eating at a restaurant for breakfast and/or brunch is the hardest meal for those with dairy and gluten allergies/sensitivies.  Think about it, other than fruit, and juice, what at a breakfast/brunch buffet may be safe?  The eggs are made with dairy, there is usually an abundance of gluten (and dairy) products: pancakes, waffles, french toast, regular toast, donuts, bagels, cereals. . . . and suspect meats that may or may not contain gluten and/or dairy.  If I am lucky, there are hard-boiled eggs.  I hoard the eggs. . . don’t touch my eggs!

The thing of it is, I LOVE breakfast. Scrambled eggs, hash browns, omelets, and bacon!  It is the best meal of the day, unless I am eating at a restaurant. . . . then I just salivate, eat a bunch of fruit and go into a sugar coma.  So, needless to say, I cook breakfast at home a lot.  I have been in a rut lately (is that even possible with breakfast?) so I thought I would try something new:

Potato Latkes

Servings: 8-12 palm sized latkes

Time: Approx 20 minutes

  • 3 fist-sized potatoes
  • 1 onion about 2.5″ round
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 T. rice flour
  • 1/2 t. salt
  • 1/4 t. pepper
  1. Peel and quarter the potatoes and place in a bowl of water until ready to process.
  2. In the blender or food processor, pulse the onion until finely chopped.
  3. Remove onions and place in a mixing bowl.
  4. Pulse the potatoes in several batches (I just did one batch, as the food processor was large enough) until finely chopped.
  5. Beat the eggs and add them with the flour and seasonings to the potatoes and onions.
  6. Mix all ingredients well.
  7. Fry the pancakes in a lightly greased nonstick pan until golden, about 3-4 minutes per side.
  8. Serve hot.

Originally adapted from Adapted from Bette Hagman’s The Gluten-Free Gourmet, found on Lisa Bee: Knottie Recipes

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , ,

