The Best (Dairy-Free) Mashed Potatoes

Garlic Mashed Potatoes with Chicken GravyIf I could marry potatoes, I probably would have long ago.  Seriously, I could live off of potatoes alone . . . not kidding, ask anyone.  I LOVE potatoes.

 I fear the day my family finds me eating an entire pot of mashed potatoes.

My wonderful mother tried many dairy-free mashed potato recipes over the years and when I learned to cook, trying to perfect dairy-free mashed potatoes has been my mission.

Here is the best recipe I have been able to come up with thus far:

Dairy-Free Garlic Mashed Potatoes

4-6 Servings (Well . . . one serving if they are for me!)

Ingredients:

  • 5 lbs of potatoes (I prefer Yukon gold, they are creamier)
  • Approx 1/2 cup of milk substitute – I recommend almond or rice milk
  • 1/4 cup low-sodium chicken broth
  • 1-2 Tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
  • Salt and Pepper to taste
  • 5-10 cloves garlic, peeled and chopped

Directions:

  1. Pre-heat oven to 400 degrees F.
  2. Chop your potatoes into 1/2 inch squares. (Feel free to peel them first, if you would like.)
  3. Add potatoes to large pot of water, bring to boiling, and let boil for 10-20 minutes, until soft and easily pierced with a fork. Drain and rinse.
  4. Place garlic in small pan and cook on medium heat until light golden browned, stir often.
  5. Transfer potatoes to a large mixing bowl, add oil, broth, salt and pepper and garlic. Mix, mash, or blend – whichever tool you prefer. Once they are somewhat mashed and coated with the oil, add the milk a little at a time as you blend until the desired consistency is reached.
Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

