So Simple! Chicken and Sausage Jambalaya

Jambalaya

I am a huge fan of sticking to foods that I know and love but every now and again, you need to switch things up a bit.  Being cold right now, I figured a comfort food like jambalaya would be a perfect way to spice up the week.  This is my first stab at making jambalaya and it couldn’t have been any easier!  I found this recipe through Pinterest which originated from Cats and Casseroles. I didn’t have all of the ingredients, so mine is modified a bit. It was hearty with just the right amount of heat.  When I make it again, I will definitely add shrimp as well.

I like to pretend that I am all dramatic and complicated, but I am really just a simple girl who likes simple food.

SLOW COOKER JAMBALAYA

1 lb skinless, boneless chicken breast, cut up into small pieces
1 lb andouille sausage, sliced (I used Kielbasa as I had it on hand and couldn’t find andouille)
1 28oz can diced tomatoes with juice
1 large onion, chopped
1 large green bell pepper, chopped (I used a handful of small sweet peppers)
1 c chopped celery
1 c chicken broth
2 tsp dried oregano
2 tsp dried parsley
2 tsp Cajun seasoning
1 tsp cayenne pepper (cut this in half if you don’t want as much heat)
1/2 tsp dried thyme
1 c instant rice

1. Place all ingredients except rice in slow cooker. Cook on low for 7-8 hours, or on high for 3-4 hours.

2. Cook rice according to package instructions. Add rice, as desired, into each individual serving of jambalaya. Store rice separately from rest of stew.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

