Once is better than never.

Well, so much for my successful meal planning.  On second thought, I guess I was successful at planning the meals, just not actually executing them (meh, small details).  Life happens and I got busy this week and only made one of the recipes on my meal plan.  Grr. Well, I will try to look on the bright side and think to myself “you actually cooked this week, good job.”  Let’s be honest, it would have been easier to heat up a can of soup instead of cooking. . . . been there, done that.

The one meal I was able to make was ” Quinoa Primavera with Chicken, Broccoli and Spring Peas” which is a modified recipe from Whole Foods.  Instead of asparagus, I used broccoli as that is what I had on hand.  Additionally, the original recipe was very bland.  We added spaghetti sauce to the dish after we cooked it, which ended up being much more flavorful and delicious. I am still ambivalent about this recipe and may or may not make it again.

Quinoa Primavera with Chicken, Broccoli and Spring Peas

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup quinoa
  • 2 cups water (or 1 cup chicken broth/1 cup water)
  • 1 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1/2 cup finely chopped white onion
  • 1/2 pound frozen broccoli
  • 2 cloves garlic, finely chopped
  • 1 cup fresh peas or frozen petite peas, thawed
  • 1 cup shredded cooked chicken
  • 1 cup thinly sliced baby spinach leaves
  • 1 cup spaghetti sauce
  • Sea salt and freshly ground pepper, to taste
Method:

Rinse quinoa under cold running water and drain. Combine water (chicken broth/water) and quinoa in a medium saucepan and bring to a boil. Reduce heat to a simmer, cover and cook until quinoa is tender and all the water is absorbed, 15 to 20 minutes.

Meanwhile, heat olive oil in a large skillet over medium heat. Add onion and broccoli. Cook, stirring often, until broccoli is tender and bright green, 5 to 7 minutes. Add garlic and peas and continue cooking for another minute. Stir in chicken and cooked quinoa. Add the spaghetti sauce and spinach and stir until it wilts, 3 to 5 minutes. Season with salt and pepper and serve immediately.

Tagged: , , , , ,

