It’s All Just a Bunch of Crock(pot)

Is the gluten-free trend, just that, another trend? Or is going gluten-free a healthy long-term lifestyle choice for those who choose it? These questions are asked of me constantly. Ha! Like I know the answers! I am not a dietitian, doctor or researcher. All of the information that I can provide comes from ONE case study… mine. I FEEL better without wheat. Done. Period. Is it a bunch of crock for every other person who goes gluten-free? I don’t know and frankly, I don’t care. What this journey has taught me is that if I feel healthy, I am doing the right things.

Being gluten-free makes me feel healthy but using a crock-pot makes me feel like I am Super Woman. Seriously. Think of all the benefits of a crock-pot: little prep time, one pot, little to no active participation in the cooking, easy clean up and delicious recipes. It is more than amazing to quickly throw some ingredients into a pot, turn it on and go to work (or to sleep as I do since I work overnights) and when you come back, dinner is served! It is a wonder that people even still use those pesky pots and pans. I seriously do a little (somewhat obnoxious) dance in the kitchen every time I make a crock-pot meal. Seriously. No joke. Ask my family . . . they will explain the embarrassment I have caused by my incessant crock-pot kitchen dancing.

So Super Woman saves the day again with . . . “Chicken Tortilla Soup“.

I made the recipe as stated including topping the soup with jalapeno peppers. We also added fresh cilantro and avocado as a topping.  Yum!

It is not always too bad being a one (crock) pot kind of girl.  Woot!

Chicken Tortilla Soup

Ingredients
    • (2) 14 ounce can chicken broth with roasted garlic
    • (1) 14 1/2 ounce can Mexican-style stewed tomatoes, undrained
    • 2 cups shredded cooked chicken (about 10 ounces)
    • 2 cups frozen (yellow, green, and red) peppers and onion stir-fry vegetables
    • 1 cup tortilla chips
  • Sliced fresh jalapeno chile peppers* (optional)
Directions
  1. In a 3-1/2- or 4-quart slow cooker, combine broth, undrained tomatoes, chicken, and frozen vegetables.
  2. Cover and cook on low-heat setting for 6 to 7 hours or on high-heat setting for 3 to 3-1/2 hours.
  3. To serve, ladle soup into warm soup bowls and top with tortilla chips. If desired, top with chile peppers. Makes 4 servings.
Chicken Tortilla Soup

Source: Better Homes and Gardens

Tagged: , , , , , ,

