Egg Nests

Egg Nests

I hate spending money on anything other than shoes. I pay my rent and think, “Wow, I could have had so many pairs of shoes.” I get a raise and convert the raise into how many more new pairs of shoes I can afford.  I don’t speed when I drive with the fear that a ticket will eliminate my shoe budget for the quarter. I love shoes and hate wasting my money on other things other than paying for places to go to wear these shoes. [Stop judging me, I mean it. Stop.] So, my plan is to try to save some money on groceries to increase my budget for shoes. [I know you are still judging . . . start paying attention].

Right now, without including the cost of eating in a restaurant about once per week, I spend about $60 per week on groceries for ONE person.  Ugh. My food expenditures went up drastically when I quit eating gluten/soy/corn [thanks agri-business, you are hampering my shoe budget].  So, after getting used to these lifestyle changes over the course of the past 4 months, I finally feel ready to challenge myself again.

So, here it goes.  I want to spend $30 per week for four weeks on groceries [$120 in four weeks].  That will decrease my food budget by 50%.  For the shopper in me, that is like a big sale!  I will spend only 50% of what I was spending on groceries for the same amount of groceries and the same amount of days.  We will see if I can do this.

I figure I can only spend about $4.30 per day to reach my goal each week.  Eating 5 smaller meals a day, that is $0.85 per meal! Eek!

Along the way, I would also like to develop an archive of budget friendly clean-eating recipes that I can refer back to time and time again.

Day 1:

Breakfast: Avocado, Pepper and Egg Nest

Serves 2

Approx. 10 minutes total

  • ½ Avocado, diced
  • 1 Red Bell Pepper, cut into ½ inch slices, four slices/nests
  • 4 eggs
  • Salt and pepper, to taste
  • 1 tbsp Extra virgin, cold pressed, olive oil
  • 2 pieces cooked bacon, crumbled

Heat a medium size pan with olive oil on the stove over medium-high heat.  Add red bell pepper slices, let cook about 1 minute per side.

Crack eggs and add one egg per red pepper “nest.”  Let cook about 2 to 3 minutes, cooking the whites through but the yolks remain runny.

Flip the “nests” over and cook for an additional 30 seconds to 1 minute.

Top with salt and pepper, diced avocado and crumbled bacon.

Price: $5.57 (approx.)/$2.78 per serving

So, this one meal cost more than half my food budget for the day. . . we will try again tomorrow!

Day 1 Meals:

  • Avocado, Pepper and Egg Nests $2.78
  • Handful of Carrots and Peanut Butter
    $0.30
  • Lentil Soup $1.10
  • Half chicken breast, Half Potato and Broccoli $1.76
  • Celery and Hummus $0.40

Total: $6.34

Left: $23.66 (6 days)

